Today’s Clubhouse was built in 1921 and replaced two earlier Clubhouses that were both destroyed by fire. The lower floor was significantly renovated in 1998 and the rest of the Clubhouse underwent a major renovation in 2004.
The main floor of the Clubhouse includes the Oval Room, a formal dining area called the “1898 Room”, a Board Room and the main dining room with a marquee bar called the “Lakeview Room.” The Oval Room accommodates up to 220 guests and hosts informal dining as well as large Club wide events including the President’s Ball, Holiday party, and specialty dining events. It is a great venue for many Members’ weddings, bar/bat mitzvahs, family functions, and corporate events.
The “1898 Room” is also located on the main floor and provides a formal quieter, elegant dining experience. The centerpiece for the Club includes the main dining room called the Lakeview Room and Bar with its adjoining terrace providing sweeping panoramic views of the golf course where a la Carte dinner is prepared by our talented culinary team featuring traditional and innovative cuisine with seasonal flavors. This is also an ideal venue for casual drinks after golf and before dinner. The space is also ideal for pre-event cocktail parties for those Members and guests hosting larger events.
The lower level of the Clubhouse includes finely appointed Men’s locker room and quite possibly New York’s premier grill room and sweeping terrace, known as the Tillinghast Room. On nice summer days, with the windows of the Tillinghast Room removed and the bluestone terrace just steps away, Members enjoy a wonderful casual dining experience.